Home » News » Applications Open for 2021-22 Robert Novak Journalism Fellowships

Applications Open for 2021-22 Robert Novak Journalism Fellowships


The Fund for American Studies (TFAS) is now accepting applications for the 2021-2022 Robert Novak Journalism Fellowship Program. This prestigious Fellowship allows for journalists to undertake enterprising and ground-breaking writing projects that are broadly supportive of the principles of a free society. Fellowship recipients spend a year researching and writing on a topic of their choosing. Print and online journalists with less than 10 years’ professional experience are eligible to apply. The application deadline is April 12, 2021.


Each Fellowship provides $30,000 in grant income and $5,000 expense assistance. The John Farley Memorial Alumni Fund Fellowship, which was recently renamed to honor TFAS friend and former colleague, the late John Farley, provides support for recipients to write one in-depth, major essay on their topic. Applicants for Fellowships are automatically considered for the John Farley Memorial Alumni Fund Fellowships. No separate application process is required.

For nearly 30 years, the Robert Novak Journalism Fellowship Program has fostered the careers of outstanding journalists, including Pulitzer Prize-winning reporters, editors of national magazines and authors of best-selling books.

“As a young journalist, I was thrilled when I got a job as a researcher for a New York Times op-ed columnist,” said Katherine Mangu-Ward, a 2005 Novak Fellowship recipient and Editor-in-Chief of Reason. “But I worried about finding the time and energy to do my own research, reporting and writing. A part-time Novak Journalism Fellowship provided the motivation – and resources – for me to keep working under my own byline while I labored behind the scenes at the Times.”

By providing essential funding and an extensive network of alumni, Novak Fellowships provide promising journalists the resources to undertake career-building and impactful projects. Best-selling author, motivational speaker and columnist Laura Vanderkam ’99, Novak ’06 says the Fellowship has helped her build a great network of editors, writers, and sources.

“You can find a Novak Fellow at just about any major publication or news outlet these days, and thanks to the ongoing professional development programs, it’s easy to stay in touch and find ways to work together,” she said. I can attribute a number of my bylines to connections I made as a Fellow back in 2006!”

The Fellowships are named in honor of Robert D. Novak, longtime columnist, CNN broadcaster and reporter for the Associated Press and The Wall Street Journal. Since its founding, the program has funded more than 150 journalists. Novak Fellows include Michael Brendan Dougherty, Novak ’09, a senior writer at National Review; Mollie Hemmingway, Novak ’04, a Fox News contributor and senior editor for The Federalist; Tim Carney, Novak ’03, best-selling author and columnist of the Washington Examiner; and Jillian Kay Melchior, Novak ’11, Editorial page writer at The Wall Street Journal.


Visit TFAS.org/NovakApply to learn more and begin your application today. All application materials must be submitted by April 12, 2021. Applicants must be citizens of the United States.

For questions or more information, please contact TFAS Journalism Fellowships Director Daniel McCarthy at dmccarthy@TFAS.org or 202.986.0384.


Recent Posts


Lessons from Ronald Reagan’s Presidency with Dr. Donald Devine

This week, another exceptional guest joins us on the Liberty + Leadership Podcast: Dr. Donald Devine - President Ronald Reagan’s civil service director and TFAS senior scholar.

NPR Editor’s Tell-All Confirms What We Already Knew About The Media

Below is an excerpt from an op-ed by Roger Ream that originally appeared in The Hill. You can find the entire article here.  2024 has not been kind to American journalism. Mainstream news outlets — including NBC News, CBS, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times,…

Jillian Lederman and Luke Lyman Selected as 2024 Joseph Rago Memorial Fellows for Excellence in Journalism

The Fund for American Studies (TFAS) and The Wall Street Journal are pleased to announce Jillian Lederman and Luke Lyman as the two recipients of the 2024 Joseph Rago Memorial Fellowship for Excellence in Journalism. The Fellowships are being awarded to two…