Home » News » Senator Jon Kyl Meets With Annual Dinner Sponsors

Senator Jon Kyl Meets With Annual Dinner Sponsors


220px-jon_kyl_official_109th_congress_photoThis year, Senator Jon Kyl (Ariz.) will be honored at the annual Congressional Scholarship Award Dinner (CSAD) on June 23.

In order to generate interest in the dinner, Senator Kyl met sponsors on March 23 with members of the dinner committee, TFAS corporate sponsors and other potential dinner supporters.

The group gathered at Charlie Palmer’s Steakhouse in Washington, D.C. to discuss the approaching dinner.

Doug Todd, chair of the Board of Visitors for IBGA, spoke to the attendees about the importance of supporting CSAD and hosting a summer intern. IBGA alum and intern sponsor John DuMoulin (E 90, B 91) of URAC also spoke and mentioned that it was his participation in IBGA that laid the groundwork for his successful career in health care policy at URAC.

Sen. Kyl talked about the importance of legislators and the business community working together to ensure sustainable growth in private industry. He warned against legislative proposals that could harm businesses and policies that would make it harder for companies to expand and help drive the economy. Sen. Kyl also encouraged those in attendance to support IBGA because of the importance of training future leaders in business and government.

Please see below for a full list of lunch participants. Stay tuned for more information on the upcoming CSAD dinner in June!

Roger Ream, The Fund for American Studies
Randy Teague, The Fund for American Studies
Ed Turner, The Fund for American Studies
Jonathan Tilley, The Fund for American Studies
Kristy Khachigian, The Fund for American Studies
John DuMoulin, URAC
Hank Kopcial, NFIB
Steve Watson, Loews Corp.
Doug Todd, Siemens Corp.
Gordy Schnabel, Raytheon Corp.
Jessica Hogle, PG&E Corp.
Kristine Tuinstra, Alticor Inc
Bob Ekstrom, Pinnacle West
Larry Harlow, Timmons and Co.
Debbie Lawrence, Williams Co’s.
Chuck Wellard, American Bakers Assn.
Carolyn Henrich, University of California
Dorothy Walsh, Qwest Communications
Brooks Brunson, Qwest Communications
Reeves Barbour, Reynolds American
Sam Geduldig, Clark, Lytle & Geduldig
Maurie Dugger, Edison Electric Institute
Brett Smith, American Forest & Paper Assn.
Kyle Pitsor, Natl. Electrical Manufacturers Assn..
Peter Kravitz, American Institute of Certified Public Accountants


Recent Posts


Applications Open for 2023-24 Robert Novak Journalism Fellowships

The Fund for American Studies (TFAS) is now accepting applications for the 2023-2024 Robert Novak Journalism Fellowship Program. This prestigious Fellowship allows journalists to undertake enterprising and ground-breaking writing projects that are broadly…

Liberty + Leadership Podcast – Amity Shlaes on Rethinking Calvin Coolidge

This week, another exceptional guest joins us on the Liberty + Leadership Podcast: Amity Shlaes - Chair of the board at the Calvin Coolidge Presidential Foundation, current events columnist for Forbes and bestselling author of seven books.

Liberty + Leadership News: March 24

Read the latest TFAS alumni and supporter updates in this week's Liberty + Leadership News.