Join our mailing list today!

* indicates required

The Fund for American Studies (TFAS) will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

We use MailChimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to MailChimp for processing. Learn more about MailChimp's privacy practices here.

Home » Programs » Joseph Rago Memorial Fellowship for Excellence in Journalism » Apply for a Rago Fellowship

Apply for a Rago Fellowship


Applications are now open for the 2021-22 Joseph Rago Memorial Fellowship for Excellence in Journalism. Apply todayapplications are due by Monday, Feb. 15, 2021.

Apply Today

The Rago Fellowship is awarded annually to one rising journalist of outstanding character and ability to complete a nine-month internship with The Wall Street Journal’s editorial team. Recent college and journalism school graduates, and working journalists with less than five years of professional experience are welcome to apply. Applicants should have a commitment to pursuing a career in journalism and should already have some experience with writing or editing in a serious journalistic context, either in school or professionally. A demonstrated ability to multi-task and meet deadlines is critical for success. Applicants who are selected as finalists will be interviewed by video online in April. The interviews will be conducted by a panel of judges including editors of The Wall Street Journal, members of the Rago family, and representatives of The Fund for American Studies. The fellowship begins in September each year.

The application form requires the following information and materials:

  • Cover letter 
  • Resume or CV 
  • Three published writing samples
  • Short sample editorial
  • Brief personal essay

Additionally, applicants will be asked to submit one letter of reference from someone familiar with their writing.

Applications are currently closed for the 2021-22 Rago Fellowship. Please check back again at a later date for more information.

Ryan Wolfe
Manager of Continuing Education Programs