Home » Programs » Robert Novak Journalism Fellowships » Annual Awards Dinner

Annual Awards Dinner


Each year, The Fund for American Studies hosts the Robert Novak Journalism Fellowship Awards Dinner to celebrate the best in American journalism. The annual event introduces Novak and Rago Fellowship winners and honors outstanding journalists.

The evening also celebrates Novak Fellows – past and present – who undertake yearlong writing projects surrounding the principles of a free society. Click here to view the recent class of Novak Fellows.

The Thomas L. Phillips Career Achievement Award honors a leader who has made major contributions to the field of journalism during a long and distinguished career. Recent recipients include Brian Lamb of C-SPAN, Andrew Ferguson on The Weekly Standard, The Wall Street Journal’s Daniel Henninger and John Stossel of the Fox Business Channel. LEARN MORE

The Kenneth Y. Tomlinson Award for Outstanding Journalism recognizes a journalist who has exhibited excellence in reporting and a determination to present the truth, often against tough odds. Recent recipients include Heather Mac Donald of the Manhattan Institute, Bret Baier of Fox News Channel and award-winning investigative reporter Sharyl Attkisson. LEARN MORE

More than 250 prominent journalists and guests attend the event to honor Bob Novak’s legacy and to celebrate objective and responsible journalism. Proceeds from the evening support the Robert Novak Journalism Fellowship program.

Honorary Dinner Chairs

2017 Geraldine W. Novak
2016 Jeffrey J. Carneal & P.J. O’Rourke
2015 Jeffrey J. Carneal
2013 Bruce Sanford
2012 Pat Sajak
2011 Donald Rumsfeld
2010 Edwin Meese III
2009 Edwin Feulner
2008 Pat Sajak
2007 Fred Malek
2006 Michael Grebe
2005 Peter Kann
2004 Richard Gilder
2003 Steve Forbes