Join our mailing list today!

* indicates required

The Fund for American Studies (TFAS) will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

We use MailChimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to MailChimp for processing. Learn more about MailChimp's privacy practices here.

Home » Programs » Robert Novak Journalism Fellowships » Kenneth Y. Tomlinson Award for Outstanding Journalism

Kenneth Y. Tomlinson Award for Outstanding Journalism


The Kenneth Y. Tomlinson Award for Outstanding Journalism was established in 2015 to recognizes a journalist who has exhibited excellence in reporting and a determination to present the truth, often against tough odds.

The award is named in honor of former Reader’s Digest editor-in-chief, Kenneth Y. Tomlinson, whose distinguished journalism career spanned four decades. In addition to leading Reader’s Digest during its prime, Tomlinson served as chairman of the Broadcasting Board of Governors and chairman of the Board of the Corporation for Public Broadcasting. He was also one of Ronald Reagan’s key lieutenants in bringing about the collapse of Soviet communism, having served as the president’s director of the Voice of America (VOA) during the 1980s.

Tomlinson, who passed away in 2014, served as a judge of the Robert Novak Journalism Fellowship Program, as well as a member of the TFAS Board of Regents and the Board of Visitors for the TFAS Institute on Political Journalism (IPJ).

Kenneth Y. Tomlinson Award Recipients

2017 Heather Mac Donald
2016 Bret Baier
2015 Sharyl Attkisson