Home » Award for Excellence in Collegiate Reporting Recipients

Award for Excellence in Collegiate Reporting Recipients


2017 Award Recipient

2017: Pete Grieve, The Chicago Maroon, The University of Chicago
Grieve’s first winning entry, “CPD Investigates Sexual Assault Complaints Against Ousted Psi U Brothers,” tackles the University of Chicago and one fraternity’s handling of two sexual assault cases two months apart in 2015. In the second winning article, “On Induction Night, Phi Delt Pledges Served ‘Copious’ Amounts of Everclear Then Held in Basement Room,” Grieve reports on a hazing incident at another fraternity that ended with an injured pledge and a lawsuit.

Past Winners

2016: Elizabeth Elkin, The Crimson White, The University of Alabama
In her winning article, Elkin told the story of a victim of sexual assault on the University of Alabama campus. Her report shed light on the issues of victim mischaracterization, shaming and the common mishandling of sexual assault situations by police and other authorities.

2015: Emma Jerzyk, The Brown Daily Herald, Brown University
Jerzyk’s winning entries focused on three different stories. One story showed how unsealed documents played a very important role in a sexual assault case among two Brown students and a Providence College student. The second story focused on how Rhode Island addressed homelessness and demonstrated how one Rhode Island housing program saved a man’s life. The third story highlighted charges of a gender pay gap in the Rhode Island Governor’s office. The story detailed claims by critics that despite promises from the Governor, the pay gap has not been properly addressed.

2014: Jeremy Diamond, The GW Hatchet, George Washington University
Diamond won with three separate entries. The first story dealt with allegations that George Washington University (GW) officials misrepresented their admissions and financial aid polices for years. The other two entries looked at GW’s efforts to help veterans and the growing clout of fraternities on campus.

Runner-Up: Sarah Smith, The Daily Pennsylvanian, University of Pennsylvania
Smith’s entry shed light on shortcomings of how the university handled students who say they have been victims of a sexual assault and who experience mental health problems, as well as the bureaucracy that students must navigate after an unexpected break in academic work due to the assault.

2013: Miles Unterreiner, the Stanford Daily, Stanford University
This four-part series focused on Stanford University’s decision to end student management at the “Suites Eating Clubs.” Unterreiner’s series begins with his own experiences at the student-run dining facilities on Stanford’s campus, continuing through his meetings with administration, the costs associated with keeping these locations running, and the opinions of the chefs who worked with the Suites. Unterreiner wrote his series from the perspective of a student, and also as an employee of the Suites’ dining clubs, encouraging his peers and the Stanford community to take a stand on this controversial, close-to-home decision.

Runner-Up: Joy Crane and Hannah Nyart, The Chicago Maroon, The University of Chicago
Crane and Nyart’s six-part series was an investigation of sexual assault reports, the university’s hearing process and more at The University of Chicago.

2012: Polina Marinova, The Red & Black, The University of Georgia
Polina is a journalism major with a minor in sociology and is completing a New Media Certificate from University of Georgia’s Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication. Her award winning articles dealt with penalties for underage drinking, the questionable hiring of her school’s registrar, and a story about a scholarship that was dropped in order to pay for a raise for the University of Georgia’s president.

 2011 Winners

First Prize
The Brown Daily Herald, Inc., Ben Schreckinger, Brown University

Second Prize
The UCLA Daily Bruin, Matt Stevens, University of California, Los Angeles

Third Prize
Yale Daily News, Sarah Nutman, Yale University

2010 Winners

First Prize
The Stanford Review, Tom Corrigan, Stanford University

Second Prize
The Observer at Boston College, Jesse Naiman, Boston College

Third Prize
Columbia Spectator, Sam Levin, Columbia University

2009 Winners

First Prize
The Rocky Mountain Collegian, J. David McSwane and Aaron Hedge, Colorado State University

Second Prize
Cronkite Zine, James Kindle, Arizona State University

Third Prize
The Red and Black, Amanda Woodruff, University of Georgia

2008 Winners

First Prize
Daily Bruin, Robert Faturechi, UCLA

Second Prize
Daily Tar Heel, Brendan Brown, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Third Prize
The Virginia Informer, Joseph Luppino-Esposito, College of William and Mary

2007 Winners

First Prize
University Press, Jason Parsley, Florida Atlantic University

Second Prize – TIE
The Student Voice, Allison Baker and Julianne Pepitone, SyracuseUniversity

The Missourian, Derek Kravitz, University of Missouri-Columbia

2006 Winners

First Prize
The Hatchet, Marissa Paige Levy, The George Washington University

Second Prize
Daily Nebraskan, Maggie Stehr, University of Nebraska

Third Prize
Collegiatetimes.com, David Grant, Virginia Polytechnic Institute

The Daily Texan, Hyunjin Kim, University of Texas at Austin

The California Aggie, Christina Lee, University of California, Davis