Home » Awards » TFAS Prague Freedom Award

TFAS Prague Freedom Award


Mikheil Saakashvili Accepts AIPES Award
2016 TFAS Prague Freedom Award recipient, Mikheil Saakashvili, former president of Georgia, addresses the TFAS Prague Class of 2016 during their graduation ceremony in Prague.

The TFAS Prague Freedom Award is awarded annually during the closing ceremony in at the TFAS International program in Prague. The award has been presented to numerous acting or former heads of state for their commitment to democracy and free-market economies.


2019: The Honorable Leszek Balcerowicz
Former Deputy Prime Minister of Poland2018: The Honorable Dr. Pavol Demes
Former Slovak Minister of Foreign Affairs

2017: The Honorable Kolinda Grabar-Kitarović
President of Croatia

2016: The Honorable Mikheil Saakashvili
Former President of Georgia

2015: Ivan Mikloš
Former Deputy Prime Minister and
Minister of Finance of the Slovak Republic

2014: The Honorable Gjorge Ivanov
President of the Republic of Macedonia

2013: The Honorable Iveta Radičová
Former Prime Minister of Slovakia

2012: The Honorable Valdis Dombrovski
Prime Minister of Latvia

2011: The Honorable Boris Tadic
President of the Republic of Serbia

2010: The Honorable Donald Tusk
Prime Minister of Poland

2009: The Honorable Vaclav Klaus
President of the Czech Republic

2008: The Honorable Jose Aznar
Former Prime Minister of Spain

2007: The Honorable Andrus Ansip
Prime Minister of Estonia

2006: The Honorable Ivo Sanader
Prime Minster of the Republic of Croatia

2005: The Honorable Valdas Adamkus
President of the Republic of Lithuania

2004: The Honorable Jan Bielecki
Former Prime Minister of Poland

2003: The Honorable Mart Laar
Former Prime Minister of Estonia

2002: The Honorable Zoran Djindjic
Prime Minister of Serbia

2001: The Honorable Viktor Orban
Prime Minister of Hungary

2000: The Honorable Vaira Vike-Freiberga
President of Latvia

1999: The Honorable Mikulas Dzurinda
Prime Minister of the Slovak Republic

1998: The Honorable Janez Drnovsek
Prime Minister of Slovenia

1997: The Honorable Arpad Goncz
President of Hungary

1996: The Honorable Lech Walesa
Former President of the Republic of Poland

1995: The Honorable Vaclav Klaus
Prime Minster of the Czech Republic

1994: David R. Jones, President & CEO
The Fund for American Studies