Home » Awards » Walter Judd Freedom Award

Walter Judd Freedom Award


The Walter Judd Freedom Award is presented annually to recognize individuals who have advanced the cause of freedom in the United States and abroad, are devoted to the preservation and expansion of freedom, influential in world and national affairs, and are outspoken voices against tyranny and oppression, while embodying the characteristics of self-sacrifice and patriotism.

One of the founders of The Fund for American Studies, Walter Henry Judd (1898-1994) was one of the leading statesmen and orators of the 20th century. He began his career as a medical missionary in China and was elected to Congress from Minnesota in 1942, where he served for 20 years. He was recognized as a leading expert in Asian affairs and advised every president from Truman to Reagan. President Reagan conferred the Presidential Medal of Freedom upon Judd in 1981.

Rep. Ed Royce talks with TFAS students
Rep. Ed Royce talks with TFAS students after the Walter Judd Freedom Award ceremony

Past recipients include:

2017: Garry Kasparov, Russian pro-democracy leader, author and world chess champion

2016: Rep. Ed Royce of California

2015: Sen. John McCain of Arizona

2014: Dr. Alejandro Chafuen, President of the Atlas Economic and Research Foundation

2013: Ambassador Paula Dobriansky, Former Under Secretary of State for Democracy and Global Affairs

2012: Mary Anastasia O’Grady, Editorial Board Member and Columnist at the Wall Street Journal
Otto Reich, Former Ambassador to Venezuela

2015 Walter Judd Freedom Award winner Senator John McCain
2015 Walter Judd Freedom Award winner Sen. John McCain speaks at the awards ceremony

2011: Donald Rumsfeld, Former United States Secretary of Defense

2010: Suzanne Scholte, President of the Defense Forum Foundation

2009: Ambassador John Bolton

2008: Dr. Lee Edwards, chairman of the Victims of Communism Memorial Foundation

2007: General Edward L. Rowny, former ambassador and LTG USA (Ret.)

2006: U.S. Rep. Henry J. Hyde

2005: Dr. Charles Krauthammer

TFAS President Roger Ream, Trustee Vice Chair Mike Thompson Sr., Chairman Randal Teague present The Honorable Donald Rumsfeld with the 2011 Judd Award.

2004: Dr. Edwin J. Feulner

2002: Dr. George J. Viksnins

2001: U.S. Rep. Philip M. Crane

2000: U.S. Rep. Lincoln Diaz-Balart & Ms. Elena Amos

1999: President Ronald Reagan

1998: U.S. Rep. Frank Wolf

1997: Dr. Harry Wu

1996: The Honorable Jack Kemp

1995: Ambassador Jeane Kirkpatrick

1994: William F. Buckley, Jr.