Home » News » Alumni Volunteer As Speakers For Alumni Roundtables With TFAS Students

Alumni Volunteer As Speakers For Alumni Roundtables With TFAS Students


Internships, classes and guest lecturers aren’t the only way TFAS students are gaining professional skills this summer. U.S. programs students are getting first-hand advice from members of the TFAS alumni network through the Alumni Roundtable discussion and networking sessions.

Andrew Powalney (J 08) speaks to IPJ students at a roundtable dinner.
Andrew Powalney (J 08) speaks to IPJ students at a roundtable dinner.

The roundtable dinners began in 2010 with the goal of bringing students together with institute alumni and Board of Visitors members, allowing students to gain career advice, suggestions on job hunting and networking tips for the summer.

“This is a wonderful chance for students to be inspired,” said ICPES and IEIA Manager Haley Heieck (B 07). “Our alumni come back to D.C. to start their careers and find professional success, and this has become one of the favorite events of the summer.”

The format of the seminar allows for alumni to be seated with 8 students during dinner. Each alumnus is asked to introduce him or herself and give a piece of advice to those starting out their careers.

Elizabeth Goldberg (P 05, P BOV) speaks to students at the IPVS roundtable dinner.
Elizabeth Goldberg (P 05, P BOV) speaks to students at the IPVS roundtable dinner.

These roundtables also serve as a way for students to learn more about the TFAS alumni network. This year, Alumni Council Vice Chairman of Development Toby Stock (B 98) spoke to the students about alumni giving.

Thank you to the following alumni and Board of Visitors members who have volunteered their time to serve as 2012 Alumni Roundtable discussion leaders:

IPVS Roundtable Discussion Leaders
Alyssa Adams (P 08), US House of Representatives
Heather Crouch (P 09), Mi Casa, Inc.
James Francavilla (P BOV), Combined Federal Campaign of the National Capital Area
Dana Goldenberg (P 09), Mary’s Center
Elizabeth Goldberg (P 05, P BOV), Cultural Tourism DC
Jennie Johnson (P 05), NGP VAN
Erika Liliedahl (P 99), US Department of Labor
Kevin Leung (P 08), US Customs and Boarder Protection
Shannon May (P 06), University of Maryland at Baltimore
Joe Mazzola (P BOV), Character Education Partnership
Dan Westerhof (P 02, P BOV), Peace Corps
Molly Whalen (P BOV), The Ivymount School and Programs

IPJ Roundtable Discussion Leaders
Dara E. Fennell (J 09), Office of Public Affairs for the Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement
Ladan Nekoomaram (J 09), The Mercatus Center
Andrew Powaleny (J 08), House Energy and Commerce Committee
Jayne Miller (J 07), International Foundation for Electoral Systems
Andrew Bernius (J 07), C-SPAN
Brittany Hackett (J 07), Politico Pro
John Heltman (J 2002), EPA Watch
Nicolas Ballasy (J 07), The Daily Caller
Suzy Kianpour (J 09), The British Broadcasting Corporation

ICPES/ IEIA Roundtable Discussion Leaders
Roy Abdo (I 06, CSS 07), Middle East Broadcast Networks
Mary Baker (E 86), Kalbian Hagerty LLP
Jillian Barber (E 06), The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials
Adam Berkland (E 08), Americans for Prosperity
Anthony Costanzo (E 82), Business and Government Strategies International
Lauren Crawford (E 04), Hamilton Place Strategies
Dimitar Georgiev (E 09), The Aspen Institute
Robert Hatem (E 86), Sierra Gaming of California
Amanda Krause (E 06), U.S. Government Accountability Office
Blair Mixon (CSF 08), Blank Rome Government Relations
Christopher Molitoris (E 05), Center for Global Development
Roger Ream (E 06), The Fund for American Studies
Peter Redpath (E BOV), The Federalist Society
Dennis Stephens (E 79), K. L. Gates Law Firm
Toby Stock (B 98), American Enterprise Institute
Adam Waldeck (CSF 06, LSI 07), Southeast Energy Alliance

IBGA Roundtable Discussion Leaders
Elizabeth (Betsy) Bryant (B 05), The Chertoff Group
Lindsey Hurlbut (B 06), National Association of Home Builders
Alexander Marriott (B 07), U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
David Reid (B 05), UnitedHealth Group
Toby Stock (B 98), American Enterprise Institute
Loren Streit (B 05), H+K Strategies
Bryan Wood (B 06), Senior Policy Advisor to U.S. Rep. Robert Hurt
Jeffrey Zubricki (B 05), U.S. Senate Commerce Committee
Lauren Belive Zubricki (B 05), U.S. House Rules Committee


Recent Posts


In Memory of William C. Dennis

It is with great sadness that The Fund for American Studies (TFAS) shares the passing of beloved TFAS faculty member, supporter and friend, William (Bill) Cullen Dennis.

Liberty + Leadership Podcast – Melanie Kirkpatrick on Unveiling Thanksgiving’s Hidden Heroines

This week, another exceptional guest joins us on the Liberty + Leadership Podcast: Melanie Kirkpatrick - author, journalist and senior fellow at the Hudson Institute.

Liberty + Leadership News: November 10

Read the latest TFAS alumni and supporter updates in this week's Liberty + Leadership News.