Home » News » New Professors Join TFAS Faculty

New Professors Join TFAS Faculty


In summer 2009, 25 faculty members will teach at 5 U.S. programs and 4 international programs. Most faculty members will be returning, but there will be a few new faces in the front of TFAS classrooms.

In the Engalitcheff Institute, Dr. Ben Powell will teach Comparative Economic Systems. Powell is an assistant professor of economics at Suffolk University, a senior economist with the Beacon Hill Institute, and a research fellow with the Independent Institute. He earned his Ph.D. in economics from George Mason University. Powell is the editor of Making Poor Nations Rich: Entrepreneurship and the Process of Development (Stanford University Press: 2008). His primary fields of research are economic development, Austrian economics, public choice, and housing economics.

IPVS will have three new professors: Dr. Richard Boyd from Georgetown University will teach the course Voluntary Associations and Democracy. He replaces his Georgetown colleague Josh Mitchell, who has been named the new provost at the American University of Iraq. Boyd’s research interests include the intellectual history of liberalism, civil society and pluralism, and economic and sociological theory.

The Ethics and Values of Philanthropy will be taught in two sections by Dr. James Otteson and Dr. Nicholas Capaldi. Otteson is a professor of philosophy and economics at Yeshiva University in New York. For the 2008-09 academic year, he is a visiting professor of government at Georgetown University. In 2007 he was first place winner of the Templeton Enterprise Awards for his seminal book Actual Ethics (Cambridge University Press, 2006).

Capaldi is the Legendre-Soule Distinguished Chair in Business Ethics at Loyola University in New Orleans. His principal research and teaching interest is in public policy and its intersection with political science, philosophy, law religion, and economics. He is an internationally recognized Hume scholar and a domestic public policy specialist on such issues as higher education, bioethics, business ethics, affirmative action, and immigration. Capaldi is creator and editor of MasterWorks in the Western Tradition, a series of books on major thinkers being published by Peter Lang.

In IBGA, Dr. Eric Daniels will teach the course Business, Government and Public Policy. Daniels is a Research Assistant Professor at Clemson University’s Institute for the Study of Capitalism. He previously taught at Duke University and the University of Wisconsin, where he earned his doctorate in American history. He has lectured internationally on the history of American ethics, American business and entrepreneurship, and the American Enlightenment. He is co-author of the U.S. Economic Freedom Index, 2008 Report.

In IIPES Greece, the conflict management component will be taught by Dr. Tristan Mabry, Visiting Assistant Professor in Georgetown University’s Department of Government. Mabry researches nationalism and ethnic conflict across greater Asia, with special focus on the politics of Muslim minorities, separatist movements, and group identity. Language issues are of special interest, as well as the intersection of ethnicity and Islam in contested regions. Previously, Mabry was a producer for CNN International and a reporter for The Wall Street Journal.


Recent Posts


Liberty + Leadership News: September 29

Read the latest TFAS alumni and supporter updates in this week's Liberty + Leadership News.

Liberty + Leadership Podcast – Tom Morrison on Law, Laughter, and Literature

This week, another exceptional guest joins us on the Liberty + Leadership Podcast: Tom Morrison - lawyer, author and former TFAS Board of Regents member.

Presenting the Freedom & Tradition Online Library

The Fund for American Studies (TFAS) presents the Freedom and Tradition Online Library, one of many new resources available under the Future of Freedom Initiative to revitalize and reinvigorate curriculum on fusionism. The interactive online library serves…