Home » Awards » Congressional and Business Leadership Awards

Congressional and Business Leadership Awards


The Congressional and Business Leadership Awards are presented annually to two members of Congress and a leader from the business and government affairs community for their contributions to our nation and its young people.

TFAS students meet Sen. Cory Gardner at the 2016 TFAS Scholarship Dinner.
TFAS students meet Sen. Cory Gardner at the 2016 TFAS Scholarship Dinner.
TFAS student Elizabeth Hartman (IBGA 16) gives her TFAS testimonial to 2016 dinner guests.

Each year, the recipients are honored during The Fund for American Studies Scholarship Dinner in Washington, D.C. Formerly named the Congressional Scholarship Awards Dinner, this annual event raises scholarship funds for outstanding college students to attend the Institute on Business and Government Affairs (IBGA), an academic internship program sponsored by The Fund for American Studies.

Since its inception in 1990, this dinner has raised more than $5 million in scholarships for over 750 students to attend the program. IBGA has become the premier training program for future leaders in business, government and politics. Through academic study, internships and panel discussions with leaders in the profession, students gain an appreciation for the essential interplay between business and government and its effect on our nation’s future.

The evening is a highlight of the summer for students, as it gives them the opportunity to meet senators, congressmen and leaders from the corporate community. 

For information on our 2017 dinner and to learn about sponsorship opportunities and benefits, please contact Mr. Ed Turner at 202-986-0384 or eturner@TFAS.org

Past Award Recipients


2016 – The Honorable Cory Gardner (R-Colorado), The Honorable Mark Warner (D-Virginia) and The Honorable Jay Timmons, president and CEO of the National Association of Manufacturers

2015 – The Honorable John Barrasso (R-Wyoming), The Honorable Amy Klobuchar (D-Minnesota) and The Honorable John Engler, president of the Business Roundtable

2014 – The Honorable Richard Burr (R-North Carolina), The Honorable Joe Manchin (D-West Virginia) and Thomas R. Kuhn, president of the Edison Electric Institute

2013 –  The Honorable Mark Begich (D-Alaska), The Honorable Fred Upton (R-Michigan) and Jack Gerard, president and CEO of the American Petroleum Institute

2012 – The Honorable Lamar Alexander (R-Tennessee)

2011 – The Honorable Senator Mark Pryor (D-Arkansas)

2010 – The Honorable Richard Lugar (R-Indiana)

2009 – The Honorable Jon Kyl (R-Arizona)

2008 – The Honorable Ken Salazar (D-Colorado)

2007 – The Honorable Saxby Chambliss (R-Georgia)

2006 – The Honorable Max Baucus (D-Montana)

2005 – The Honorable Pat Roberts (R-Kansas.)

2004 – The Honorable Daniel K. Inouye (D-Hawaii)

2003 – The Honorable Elizabeth Dole (R-North Carolina)

2002 – The Honorable Ben Nelson (D-Nebraska)

2001 – The Honorable Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-Texas)

2000 – The Honorable Tom Daschle (D-South Dakota)

1999 – The Honorable Phil Gramm (R-Texas)

1998 – The Honorable Joe Lieberman (D-Connecticut)

1997 – The Honorable Trent Lott (R-Mississippi)

1996 – The Honorable Pat Moynihan (D-New York)

1995 – The Honorable Don Nickles (R-Oklahoma)

1994 – The Honorable John Breaux (D-Louisiana)

1993 – The Honorable Malcolm Wallop (R-Wyoming)

1992 – The Honorable Alan Dixon (D-Illinois)

1991 – The Honorable Bob Dole (R-Kansas)

1990 – The Honorable David L. Boren (D-Oklahoma)