Home » TFAS Events » 29th Annual Scholarship Dinner

29th Annual Scholarship Dinner

July 25, 2018

The Willard 1400 Pennsylvania Ave. NW

Washington, DC 20004


Please join The Fund for American Studies (TFAS) on July 25, 2018* at The Willard Intercontinental Hotel for a special celebration honoring today’s congressional and business leaders and supporting our future leaders – the 2018 TFAS students.

Purchase Tickets and Sponsorships

Our 2018 Honorees: Sen. Jerry Moran of Kansas, Sen. Michael Bennet of Colorado and Matthew R. Shay, President and CEO of the National Retail Federation

It is a privilege to honor Sen. Jerry Moran of Kansas and Sen. Michael Bennet of Colorado with the 2018 Congressional Leadership Awards, and Matthew R. Shay, President and CEO of the National Retail Federation, with the 2018 Business Leadership Award.

July 25, 2018

The Williard Intercontinental
Washington, D.C.

6 p.m. Reception • 7 p.m. Dinner

*Please Note: The date of this event has been updated. The event will take place on July 25, 2018.

Sponsorships and Ticket Sales

Thank you to our sponsors! Click here to view all of the generous organizations and individuals supporting the 29th Annual TFAS Scholarship Dinner.

As a sponsor of our 29th Annual Scholarship Dinner, you will enable deserving, highly qualified students to attend our life-changing programs, regardless of their financial situation. In addition, you and/or your company will be recognized before our 200 attendees. These sponsorships include complimentary registration(s); VIP seating; priority intern selection and brand recognition and visibility.

Click here to register online as a sponsor today! If you prefer to register via PDF form and fax or email, please fill out our commitment form here.

Individual Tickets

Individual tickets are available for as low as $225. Don’t delay! Register now to ensure you are part of this unique event that honors our leaders of today, while supporting the dreams and ambitions of our future leaders.


Sen. Rand Paul speaks with students during a TFAS Capitol Hill Lecture.

Your involvement will make a powerful difference in our nation’s future by allowing students with outstanding leadership potential to attend the TFAS Institute on Business and Government Affairs (IBGA). This comprehensive program includes: courses on economics and government relations for transferable credit; guaranteed internships with government affairs offices of notable corporations, trade associations and lobbying firms in the D.C. area; and unparalleled access to networking and professional development opportunities including special guest lectures, site briefings, a mentorship program and more.

85% of our exceptional students would be unable to participate without your generosity. Funds raised by this annual dinner support scholarships for highly qualified, ambitious student leaders to attend our transformational TFAS academic internship programs. Thanks to sponsors and attendees like you, the dinner has raised over $5 million since 1990. Yet the need is growing. Help us say “yes” to more of our impressive applicants in 2019, regardless of their financial ability.

It’s no exaggeration to say I’m doing what I’m doing now directly because of the opportunities presented to me by The Fund for American Studies. For that, I am endlessly grateful.” – Stephen F. Hayes, TFAS Alumnus
Editor-in-Chief of the Weekly Standard

IBGA Board of Visitors Dinner Committee

Honorary Dinner Chair

William J. Hybl, El Pomar Foundation


Kirk Blalock, Fierce Government Relations

Caroline Decker, TFAS Regent & IBGA Alumna

Juanita Duggan, NFIB

Robert Flock, Credit Union National Association

Carla Lochiatto, CAE, ASAE

Dan Meyers, APCO Worldwide

Alex Schriver, Targeted Victory

Tracy D. Taylor, Williams & Jensen

Cornell Teague, Alpine Group

Randal C. Teague, Vorys

Harrison Wadsworth, Siemens

Members At-Large

Charlie Black, Prime Policy Group

Jeff Carneal, Red Dog Strategies

Marlene Colucci, The Business Council

Kelly D. Johnston, Campbell Soup Company

Kathryn Karol, Caterpillar

Larry Lynott, ARG LLC

Ziad Ojakli, Ford Motor Company

Keith Smith, National Association of Manufacturers

Diane Tomb, National Rental Home Council

Brendan Williams, PBF Energy

Hicks Winters, LafargeHolcim USA

Debbie Witchey, Healthcare Leadership Council

Past Congressional and Business Leadership Award Recipients

2017 – The Honorable Rob Portman (R-Ohio), The Honorable Tom Carper (D-Delaware) and Mr. Nick Calio, president and CEO of Airlines for America (A4A)

2016 – The Honorable Cory Gardner (R-Colorado), The Honorable Mark Warner (D-Virginia) and The Honorable Jay Timmons, president and CEO of the National Association of Manufacturers

2015 – The Honorable John Barrasso (R-Wyoming), The Honorable Amy Klobuchar (D-Minnesota) and The Honorable John Engler, president of the Business Roundtable

2014 – The Honorable Richard Burr (R-North Carolina), The Honorable Joe Manchin (D-West Virginia) and Thomas R. Kuhn, president of the Edison Electric Institute

2013 – The Honorable Mark Begich (D-Alaska), The Honorable Fred Upton (R-Michigan) and Jack Gerard, president and CEO of the American Petroleum Institute

2012 – The Honorable Lamar Alexander (R-Tennessee)

2011 – The Honorable Senator Mark Pryor (D-Arkansas)

2010 – The Honorable Richard Lugar (R-Indiana)

2009 – The Honorable Jon Kyl (R-Arizona)

2008 – The Honorable Ken Salazar (D-Colorado)

2007 – The Honorable Saxby Chambliss (R-Georgia)

2006 – The Honorable Max Baucus (D-Montana)

2005 – The Honorable Pat Roberts (R-Kansas)

2004 – The Honorable Daniel K. Inouye (D-Hawaii)

2003 – The Honorable Elizabeth Dole (R-North Carolina)

2002 – The Honorable Ben Nelson (D-Nebraska)

2001 – The Honorable Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-Texas)

2000 – The Honorable Tom Daschle (D-South Dakota)

1999 – The Honorable Phil Gramm (R-Texas)

1998 – The Honorable Joe Lieberman (D-Connecticut)

1997 – The Honorable Trent Lott (R-Mississippi)

1996 – The Honorable Pat Moynihan (D-New York)

1995 – The Honorable Don Nickles (R-Oklahoma)

1994 – The Honorable John Breaux (D-Louisiana)

1993 – The Honorable Malcolm Wallop (R-Wyoming)

1992 – The Honorable Alan Dixon (D-Illinois)

1991 – The Honorable Bob Dole (R-Kansas)

1990 – The Honorable David L. Boren (D-Oklahoma)

IBGA student Amora Brown, meets with past Congressional and Business Leadership Award recipients Sen. Mark Begich of Alaska, Jack Gerard of the American Petroleum Institute and Rep. Fred Upton of Michigan.

Purchase Tickets and Sponsorships

Related Events


34th Annual Scholarship Dinner

Please join The Fund for American Studies (TFAS) on July 11, 2024, at The Four Seasons Hotel in Washington, D.C., for a special celebration honoring today’s congressional and business leaders and supporting our future leaders – the 2024 TFAS students. Your…

Exploring the Future of Freedom in Europe

Join The Fund for American Studies (TFAS) on an exciting excursion this summer through the heart of central Europe. Tour Ljubljana, Vienna, Bratislava and Prague from July 27 to August 3, 2024!

Ljubljana TFAS Alumni Dinner

Please join TFAS alumni and supporters in Ljubljana for dinner on Saturday, July 27, at Gostilna Na Gradu. During the dinner, TFAS alumni, staff and supporters will have the opportunity to rekindle old friendships and meet fellow alumni, hear inspiring stories…