Home » TFAS Events » 30th Annual TFAS Scholarship Dinner

30th Annual TFAS Scholarship Dinner

July 17, 2019

Fairmont Washington D.C.

Georgetown, M Street Northwest, Washington, DC, USA


Please join The Fund for American Studies (TFAS) on July 17, 2019 at The Fairmont in Washington, D.C. for a special celebration honoring today’s congressional and business leaders and supporting our future leaders – the 2019 TFAS students. Your involvement will make a powerful difference in our nation’s future by allowing students with outstanding leadership potential to attend the TFAS D.C. Summer Programs track on Business + Government Relations.

Purchase Tickets and Sponsorships

Our 2019 Honorees: Sen. Tim Scott of South Carolina and Susan Neely, President and CEO of American Council of Life Insurers.

It is a privilege to honor Sen. Tim Scott of South Carolina with the 2019 Congressional Leadership Award, and Susan Neely, President and CEO of American Council of Life Insurers, with the 2019 Business Leadership Award.

July 17, 2019

The Fairmont
Washington, D.C.

The evening will begin with a reception at 6 p.m. followed by dinner and remarks by our honorees at 7 p.m.

Sponsorships and Ticket Sales

Thank you to the American Council of Life Insurers for supporting the 30th Annual TFAS Scholarship Dinner as our Dinner Sponsor. Click here to view all of the generous organizations and individuals supporting the 30th Annual TFAS Scholarship Dinner.

As a sponsor of our 30th Annual Scholarship Dinner, you will enable deserving, highly qualified students to attend our life-changing programs, regardless of their financial situation. In addition, you and/or your company will be recognized before our 300 attendees. These sponsorships include complimentary registration(s); VIP seating; priority intern selection and brand recognition and visibility.

Click here to register online as a sponsor today! If you prefer to register via PDF form and fax or email, please fill out our commitment form here.

Individual Tickets

Individual tickets are available for as low as $225. Don’t delay! Register now to ensure you are part of this unique event that honors our leaders of today, while supporting the dreams and ambitions of our future leaders.

About the Dinner

TFAS students take the stage to thank our dinner sponsors and testify on the impact of their generosity during the 2018 TFAS Scholarship Dinner.

Funds raised by this annual dinner support scholarships for highly qualified, ambitious student leaders to attend our transformational TFAS D.C. Summer Programs track on Business + Government Relations. This comprehensive program includes: courses on economics and government relations for transferable credit; guaranteed internships with government affairs offices of notable corporations, trade associations and lobbying firms in the D.C. area; and unparalleled access to networking and professional development opportunities including special guest lectures, site briefings, a mentorship program and more.

My favorite part of this program was having the opportunity to learn on a day-by-day basis from professionals in the government relations industry because it is only through effective advocacy that we can ensure government policies reflect private citizen’s interests.– EDGAR VELASCO, INTERN, METLIFE

85% of our exceptional students would be unable to attend our programs without your generosity. Thanks to sponsors and attendees like you, the dinner has raised over $5 million since 1990. Yet the need is growing. Help us say “yes” to more of our impressive applicants in 2020, regardless of their financial ability.

Honorary Dinner Chair Matthew Shay of the National Retail Federation accepts his 2018 TFAS Business Leadership Award from Nick Calio of Airlines for America.

Dinner Committee

Honorary Chairs

Juanita Duggan, NFIB

Tom Kuhn, Edison Electric Institute

Matthew Shay, National Retail Federation

Jay Timmons, National Association of Manufacturers

Dinner Chair

Robert Flock, Credit Union National Association


Charlie Black, Prime Policy Group

Kirk Blalock, Fierce Government Relations

Jeff Carneal, Red Dog Strategies

Marlene Colucci, The Business Council

Kelly D. Johnston, Campbell Soup Company (Ret.)

Dan Meyers, APCO Worldwide

Tracy D. Taylor, Alignment Government Strategies

Cornell Teague, Alpine Group

Randal C. Teague, Vorys (Ret.)

Diane Tomb, National Rental Home Council

Harrison Wadsworth, Siemens

Debbie Witchey, Healthcare Leadership Council

Hicks Winters, LafargeHolcim USA

Past Award Recipients

2018 – The Honorable Michael Bennet, The Honorable Jerry Moran and Matthew R. Shay, president and CEO of the National Retail Federation

2017 – The Honorable Rob Portman, The Honorable Tom Carper and Mr. Nick Calio, president and CEO of Airlines for America (A4A)

2016 – The Honorable Cory Gardner, The Honorable Mark Warner and The Honorable Jay Timmons, president and CEO of the National Association of Manufacturers

2015 – The Honorable John Barrasso, The Honorable Amy Klobuchar and The Honorable John Engler, president of the Business Roundtable

2014 – The Honorable Richard Burr, The Honorable Joe Manchin and Thomas R. Kuhn, president of the Edison Electric Institute

2013 – The Honorable Mark Begich, The Honorable Fred Upton and Jack Gerard, president and CEO of the American Petroleum Institute

2012 – The Honorable Lamar Alexander

2011 – The Honorable Senator Mark Pryor

2010 – The Honorable Richard Lugar

2009 – The Honorable Jon Kyl

2008 – The Honorable Ken Salazar

2007 – The Honorable Saxby Chambliss

2006 – The Honorable Max Baucus

2005 – The Honorable Pat Roberts

2004 – The Honorable Daniel K. Inouye

Student interns meet with Sen. Michael Bennet during the 2018 TFAS Scholarship Dinner.

2003 – The Honorable Elizabeth Dole

2002 – The Honorable Ben Nelson

2001 – The Honorable Kay Bailey Hutchison

2000 – The Honorable Tom Daschle

1999 – The Honorable Phil Gramm

1998 – The Honorable Joe Lieberman

1997 – The Honorable Trent Lott

1996 – The Honorable Pat Moynihan

1995 – The Honorable Don Nickles

1994 – The Honorable John Breaux

1993 – The Honorable Malcolm Wallop

1992 – The Honorable Alan Dixon

1991 – The Honorable Bob Dole

1990 – The Honorable David L. Boren

1989 – The Honorable Richard Lugar


Please contact Genta Arnold at garnold@TFAS.org or 202-986-0384 for more information.

Purchase Tickets and Sponsorships

Related Events


34th Annual Scholarship Dinner

Please join The Fund for American Studies (TFAS) on July 11, 2024, at The Four Seasons Hotel in Washington, D.C., for a special celebration honoring today’s congressional and business leaders and supporting our future leaders – the 2024 TFAS students. Your…

Exploring the Future of Freedom in Europe

Join The Fund for American Studies (TFAS) on an exciting excursion this summer through the heart of central Europe. Tour Ljubljana, Vienna, Bratislava and Prague from July 27 to August 3, 2024!

Ljubljana TFAS Alumni Dinner

Please join TFAS alumni and supporters in Ljubljana for dinner on Saturday, July 27, at Gostilna Na Gradu. During the dinner, TFAS alumni, staff and supporters will have the opportunity to rekindle old friendships and meet fellow alumni, hear inspiring stories…