Home » News » Meet The New Vice Chairman-International Of The TFAS Board Of Trustees

Meet The New Vice Chairman-International Of The TFAS Board Of Trustees


William J. Hybl, new vice chairman-international, gives a guest lecture to students participating in this summer’s Asia Institute for Political Economy in Hong Kong.

In September, the TFAS Board of Trustees elected longtime trustee William J. Hybl as vice chairman-international. In this newly created position, Hybl will have primary board oversight responsibility for international programs and international student participation. Since 1993 more than 3,300 students have participated in TFAS International programs in Europe, Asia and South America.

Hybl currently serves as chairman and chief executive officer of the El Pomar Foundation in Colorado Springs, Colo. He is vice chairman of the Board of the Broadmoor Hotel, Inc. and chairman of the Air Force Academy Foundation.

He served twice as president of the United States Olympic Committee, leading team delegations at the Olympic Games in Albertville, France (1992), Barcelona, Spain (1992), Nagano, Japan (1998) and Sydney, Australia (2000). He has served as chairman of the U.S. Commission on Public Diplomacy and as U.S. representative to the 56th General Assembly of the United Nations.

He and his wife Kathleen have two sons, including TFAS alumnus Kyle Hybl (ICPES 91, AIPES 93), and six grandchil­dren.

Mike Thompson, chairman of the Thomas Jefferson Institute for Public Policy, will continue to serve as TFAS vice chair­man.




Recent Posts


Liberty + Leadership News: January 29

Read the latest TFAS alumni and supporter updates in this week's Liberty + Leadership News.

TFAS Mourns Partner in Economic Education, Jerry Hume

TFAS mourns the passing of Jerry Hume, a businessman and philanthropist who chaired the board of the Foundation for Teaching Economics (FTE) for more than three decades. Hume helped engineer the merger of FTE into The Fund for American Studies, which culminated…

Liberty + Leadership Podcast – Alexis & Justin Black on Redefining Normal

This week, two exceptional TFAS alums joins us on the Liberty + Leadership Podcast: Alexis and Justin Black: graduates of the 2017, 2018 and 2019 TFAS classes, co-founders of Redefining Normal and authors.