Sign up for our newsletter today!

Home » Awards » Journalism Awards

Journalism Awards


The Institute on Political Journalism presents three cash and scholarship prizes for the best story in a newspaper, magazine, online news site or blog in three categories:

In 2018, TFAS will be awarding its Excellence in Collegiate Journalism awards during a summer ceremony at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C. We are not accepting submissions for the economic and investigative awards for 2018. For more information, please contact IPJ Director Joe Starrs at 202-986-0384 or

About the Sponsoring Organization

The TFAS Journalism Awards are sponsored by the Institute on Political Journalism (IPJ), an academic internship program in Washington, D.C.  Each year, approximately 100 outstanding college journalists are chosen to spend the summer in the nation’s capital through the IPJ program. They intern at major news organizations, attend site briefings at various government institutions, hear lectures from Washington’s leading reporters and editors and take courses in economics, ethics and leadership at George Mason University.

Robert Novak Journalism Fellowships and Awards

In addition to our collegiate and professional journalism awards, TFAS hosts an annual Robert Novak Journalism Awards Dinner. The gala evening announces recipients of the Robert Novak Journalism Fellowships and honors winners of the Thomas L. Phillips Career Achievement Award and the Kenneth Y. Tomlinson Award for Outstanding Journalism.