Sign up for our newsletter today!

Home » Awards » Journalism Awards » Award for Excellence in Economic Reporting

Award for Excellence in Economic Reporting


The Award for Excellence in Economic Reporting is presented to a magazine, newspaper, or online reporter or team of reporters whose series or columns provide the best understanding of free-market economic principles and their impact on policies and markets. Original fact-finding and reporting earns special merit.

The presentation of the award, including a cash prize of $2,500, takes place during a ceremony at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C. on June 29, 2017. Former Newsweek chief economic correspondent and current contributing editor, Rich Thomas, chairs the panel of judges. View a full list of past award recipients.

About the Sponsoring Organization

The award is sponsored by the Institute on Political Journalism (IPJ), a TFAS academic internship program in Washington, D.C.  Each year, approximately 100 outstanding college journalists are chosen to spend the summer in the nation’s capital. They intern at major news organizations, attend site briefings at various government institutions, hear lectures from Washington’s leading reporters and editors and take courses in economics, ethics and leadership at George Mason University.

How to Apply

Please see below for entry guidelines. The deadline for the 2017 award is March 24, 2017.

Guidelines for Award Entries

  1. Provide a brief letter outlining the nature of the reporting, obstacles overcome, and results obtained, along with your contact information.
  2. There is no entry form; there is no entry fee. Stories must have been published between Jan. 1, 2016 and March 24, 2017.
  3. More than one series for a reporter, team or newspaper is permitted, but each should be submitted as a separate entry.
  4. Entry deadline for the materials to be postmarked is March 24, 2017.
  5. Entries must be from a U.S. publication. International entries are NOT permitted.
  6. Any format is acceptable-readability is what matters.
  7. Links to articles may be submitted. Please include contact information of the reporter (s) and pertinent editors. Email links to:
  8. If you mail your entries, you must submit four copies of your entry.

Submit application materials to:

Mr. Joseph Starrs
The Institute on Political Journalism
1621 New Hampshire Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20009

For information about the 2017 awards, please contact IPJ Director Joe Starrs at 202-986-0384 or