Home » TFAS Events » TFAS Journalism Awards Dinner

TFAS Journalism Awards Dinner

September 12, 2019

Metropolitan Club

East 60th Street, New York, NY, USA


Join The Fund for American Studies (TFAS) in NYC on Thursday, Sept. 12, 2019 as we award an outstanding journalist with the Thomas L. Phillips Career Achievement Award and present the Robert Novak Journalism Fellowships and the Joseph Rago Fellowship for Excellence in Journalism.

The 2018 Journalism Dinner at The Metropolitan Club NYC. View more photos from the event.

Please check back as more details and registration information becomes available.

More than 200 guests attended our 2018 dinner in NYC including representatives from The Wall Street Journal, Reason magazine, Dow Jones, CBS, The Weekly Standard, National Review, American Spectator, the American Conservative magazine, The Daily Signal and more.

Visit TFAS.org/JournalismDinner18 to learn more about last year’s celebration and view photos and video of the event.


Thursday, Sept. 12, 2019
Reception – 6 p.m.  •  Dinner – 7 p.m.

Metropolitan Club
One East Sixtieth Street  •  New York, NY 10022

Dress is Business

The 2018 Robert Novak Journalism Fellows receive their awards at our 2018 dinner.

Robert Novak Journalism Fellowships

For more than 25 years, the Robert Novak Journalism Fellowship Program has fostered the careers of outstanding journalists, including Pulitzer Prize-winning reporters, editors of national magazines and authors of best-selling books. By providing essential funding and an extensive network of alumni, Novak Fellowships provide promising journalists the resources to undertake career-building and impactful projects. The fellowships are named in honor of Robert D. Novak, longtime columnist, CNN broadcaster and reporter for the Associated Press and The Wall Street Journal. Since its founding, the program has funded more than 140 journalists. Learn more at TFAS.org/Novak.

Elliot Kaufman accepts the 2018 Joseph Rago Memorial Fellowship for Excellence in Journalism from the parents of Joseph Rago, TFAS and The Wall Street Journal.

Joseph Rago Memorial Fellowship

The Joseph Rago Memorial Fellowship for Excellence in Journalism was established last year in honor and memory of Joseph Rago, a former editorial board member at The Wall Street Journal who passed away in 2017. The annual fellowship provides a nine-month internship with The Wall Street Journal’s editorial team and is open to journalists with less than five years’ experience. One fellow is selected each year through an application process that is judged by senior editors at the Journal, senior leaders at The Fund for American Studies and the family of Joe Rago. Learn more at TFAS.org/Rago.

Andrew Ferguson presents best-selling author P.J. O’Rourke with the 2018 Thomas L. Phillips Career Achievement Award.

Thomas L. Phillips Career Achievement Award

The Thomas L. Phillips Career Achievement Award recognizes a leader who has made major contributions to the field of journalism during a long and distinguished career. The award is named in honor of Thomas L. Phillips, a widely respected businessman and philanthropist who was responsible for establishing the Robert Novak Journalism Fellowship Program more than 25 years ago. Phillips is the founder of The Phillips Foundation and Eagle Publishing, as well as a TFAS Trustee Emeritus and former member of the Board of Visitors for TFAS Journalism + Communications programs. Learn more at TFAS.org/Phillips.

Related Events


Alumni Brunch in NYC

TFAS alumni and friends are invited to a spring brunch in New York! Please join TFAS Executive Vice President Steve Slattery on Saturday, May 4 to share a meal and connect with TFAS friends at Tavern29! Please note: Attendance is limited to 20 guests, and brunch…

2019 Robert Novak Journalism Fellowship Alumni Dinner

Join TFAS as we celebrate the best in American journalism at the 2019 Robert Novak Journalism Fellowship Alumni Dinner on Thursday, May 9, at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C. The dinner will honor the life of the late journalist Robert Novak and…

2019 Annual Conference

Come together to celebrate “The Future of Liberty + Leadership” during the 2019 TFAS Annual Conference in Washington, D.C., this summer. We’ll put you face to face with the change-makers who are leading the fight to protect freedom today and introduce…