Home » Programs » Robert Novak Journalism Fellowships

Robert Novak Journalism Fellowships


The Robert Novak Journalism Fellowship Program supports a rising generation of serious and enterprising journalists. This prestigious, year-long program allows writers early in their careers to pursue projects they otherwise would be unable to research and report. Each Novak Fellowship provides $35,000 in grant money and expense assistance.

Newly selected Novak Fellowship recipients are announced each year at the TFAS Journalism Awards Dinner. More than 200 prominent journalists and guests attend this annual event to celebrate the best in American journalism. Proceeds from the evening support the Joseph Rago Memorial Fellowship and the Robert Novak Journalism Fellowship programs.

The evening also honors annual recipients of the Thomas L. Phillips Career Achievement Award, and the Kenneth Y. Tomlinson Award for Outstanding Journalism.

Robert Novak’s Legacy

American journalist Robert Novak provided the inspiration for this program in 1994 as a way to nurture a new generation of responsible journalists. The program was renamed in Mr. Novak’s honor following his passing in 2009. Today, the Novak Program has awarded over 150 fellowships to promising young journalists who are climbing the ranks as groundbreaking reporters, editors, editorial page writers, columnists and authors.

As a young journalist, I was thrilled when I got a job as a researcher for a New York Times op-ed columnist. But I worried about finding the time and energy to do my own research, reporting and writing. A part-time Novak Journalism Fellowship provided the motivation – and resources – for me to keep working under my own byline while I labored behind the scenes at the Times.”
– Katherine Mangu-Ward, Novak ’05
Editor-in-Chief of Reason

Novak Fellows include Steve Hayes ’94, Novak ’00, of Fox News, Katherine Mangu-Ward, Novak ’05, of Reason, Mollie Hemingway, Novak ’04, of Fox News and The Federalist, and Tim Carney, Novak ’03, of the Washington Examiner.


Novak Fellowship News


28th Annual TFAS Journalism Awards Dinner Honors Leaders Shaping American Journalism

On Nov. 3, TFAS supporters and friends gathered in person and joined online for the 28th Annual TFAS Journalism Awards Dinner.

Presenting The 2021-22 Robert Novak Journalism Fellows

The Fund for American Studies (TFAS) is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2021-22 Robert Novak Journalism Fellowship: Kevin Daley, Emma Freire, Nate Hochman, Micah Meadowcroft, Sonner Kehrt, Oliver Wiseman and Kenny Xu. The annual Fellowship provides…

Featured Alumnus: Tim Carney, Novak ’03

Acclaimed author and journalist Tim Carney, Novak '03, has encountered great success as an author and remained involved with TFAS over the past 20 years.

The Lasting Legacy of John Farley

The late John Farley directed TFAS's Novak Fellowship for more than 20 years and mentored hundreds of journalists. Here we remember our dear friend and learn how his legacy lives on.

Uprooted – Grace Olmstead Discusses New Book in Exclusive Alumni Webinar

Last month, TFAS alumna and newly-published author Grace Olmstead, Novak ’15, sat down for an interview with Director of the Robert Novak Journalism Fellowship Program Dan McCarthy for an in depth look at her writing process, the impact of the Novak Fellowship…

Applications Open for 2021-22 Robert Novak Journalism Fellowships

The Fund for American Studies (TFAS) is now accepting applications for the 2021-2022 Robert Novak Journalism Fellowship Program. This prestigious Fellowship allows for journalists to undertake enterprising and ground-breaking writing projects that are broadly…

What to Read Now: New Books by TFAS Scholars and Alumni

The Fund for American Studies (TFAS) scholars and alumni have devoted themselves to speaking up about the ideas we hold in high regard – liberty, limited government, free markets, and honorable leadership. Now they have taken their work to the next level…

TFAS Celebrates The Best in American Journalism at 27th Annual Journalism Awards Dinner

Supporters and friends gathered in person and joined online for the 27th Annual TFAS Journalism Awards Dinner on November 18. The annual event typically takes place in New York City, but due to travel restrictions, we instead hosted an intimate gathering in…

TFAS Welcomes Inaugural John Farley Memorial Alumni Fund Fellow

TFAS is pleased to welcome Charles McElwee as the inaugural recipient of the John Farley Memorial Fund Alumni Fellowship, which was renamed this year to honor TFAS friend and former colleague, the late John Farley.

TFAS Welcomes Leading Early-Career Journalists to 2020-21 Robert Novak Journalism Fellowship

The Fund for American Studies (TFAS) is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2020-21 Robert Novak Journalism Fellowship. The five selected journalists include Christian Britschgi, Tara Burton, Dimitri Simes, Lyman Stone and Julia Yost. Charles McElwee…