Home » News » TFAS Announces Recipients of 33rd Annual Congressional and Business Leadership Awards

TFAS Announces Recipients of 33rd Annual Congressional and Business Leadership Awards


Sen. Dan Sullivan with students at the 31st Annual Scholarship Awards Dinner.

The Fund for American Studies (TFAS) is pleased to announce the esteemed recipients of the Congressional and Business Leadership Awards, who will be honored at the 33rd Annual TFAS Scholarship Dinner.

TFAS will present U.S. Sen. Todd Young of Indiana with the Congressional Leadership Award and Ed Gillespie with the Business Leadership Award at the event on July 12 in Washington, D.C. Both recipients are accomplished in their careers and have contributed much to ensuring the freedom and flourishing of this nation.

U.S. Senator Todd Young

Sen. Todd Young is an exceptional leader who has made significant contributions to the state of Indiana and our nation as a whole.

As a fifth-generation Hoosier, Todd has witnessed the value of hard work and determination from a young age. He grew up watching his parents work hard in order to support the family. His first jobs were delivering newspapers, mowing lawns and providing janitorial services at the family business. His commitment to public service and his unwavering dedication to his constituents have earned him this prestigious recognition.

Having graduated with honors from the United States Naval Academy and served as a Captain in the U.S. Marine Corps, Todd brings a wealth of experience and leadership skills to his role as a public servant. In 2010, he ran for Congress and served three terms representing Indiana’s 9th District. He was elected to the U.S. Senate in 2016 and currently serves on several influential committees, including Finance; Foreign Relations; Commerce, Science & Transportation; and Small Business & Entrepreneurship. His diverse background in the military, business consulting and law positions him as a well-rounded and effective legislator.

In addition to his professional achievements, Todd values family and community. He and his wife Jenny, whom he married in 2005, are actively involved in their local community. They reside in Johnson County, Indiana, where they are raising their four young children.

Ed Gillespie

Ed Gillespie has worked at the highest levels of politics, government and business. Prior to joining AT&T in April 2020, he chaired the public affairs practice at the strategic communications firm Sard Verbinnen and Company. A successful entrepreneur, he founded and led three public affairs and government relations firms: Policy Impact Communications, Quinn Gillespie & Associates and Ed Gillespie Strategies.

Gillespie worked on Capitol Hill for more than a decade in various positions, including Republican staff director at the Congressional Joint Economic Committee and policy and communications director for the House Majority Leader. He also served as counselor to the president in President George W. Bush’s second term.

In addition to advising numerous candidates for president, governor and senate, Gillespie has chaired the Republic National Committee, the Republican Party of Virginia and the Republican State Leadership Committee. He has run for statewide office twice himself, as the Republican nominee for the U.S. Senate and governor in his home state of Virginia. He was a residential fellow at Harvard University’s Institute of Politics and currently serves on the board of the University of Chicago’s Institute of Politics. He is the author of “Winning Right: Campaign Politics and Conservative Policies.”

He and his wife Cathy have been involved in many civic and charitable organizations, including the Mount Vernon Ladies Association, Good Shepherd Housing, The Caron Foundation, America’s Kids Belong, and Constituting America, an educational foundation Cathy founded in 2015 to educate young people about America’s founding principles.

They have three adult children and live near George Washington’s historic Mount Vernon in Fairfax County, Virginia.

Matthew Shay (left) presents Susan K. Neely with the 2019 Business Leadership Award at the 30th Annual TFAS Scholarship Dinner.

TFAS’s annual scholarship dinner raises critical funds that enable undergraduate students from across the country to live in Washington and participate in our summer Business + Government Relations program. During eight weeks of classes, lectures and internships, students learn about both the theoretical and practical interactions between business and government and the importance of becoming ethical leaders grounded in the values of constitutional democracy and free enterprise.

Become a Sponsor

If you would like to partner with TFAS to honor Sen. Todd Young and Ed Gillespie while supporting the future leaders of our country, consider becoming a sponsor of the 33rd Annual Scholarship Dinner! As a sponsor, you will enable deserving, highly qualified students to attend our life-changing programs regardless of their financial situation. Sponsorships include complimentary registration(s), VIP seating, priority intern selection and brand recognition.

Visit TFAS.org/ScholarDinner#Sponsors to view the list of sponsorship opportunities. For more information, reach out to Kathie Russo, director of corporate and donor relations, at kathie@TFAS.org or Jane Mack, director of special events, at jmack@TFAS.org.


Recent Posts


Lessons from Ronald Reagan’s Presidency with Dr. Donald Devine

This week, another exceptional guest joins us on the Liberty + Leadership Podcast: Dr. Donald Devine - President Ronald Reagan’s civil service director and TFAS senior scholar.

NPR Editor’s Tell-All Confirms What We Already Knew About The Media

Below is an excerpt from an op-ed by Roger Ream that originally appeared in The Hill. You can find the entire article here.  2024 has not been kind to American journalism. Mainstream news outlets — including NBC News, CBS, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times,…

Jillian Lederman and Luke Lyman Selected as 2024 Joseph Rago Memorial Fellows for Excellence in Journalism

The Fund for American Studies (TFAS) and The Wall Street Journal are pleased to announce Jillian Lederman and Luke Lyman as the two recipients of the 2024 Joseph Rago Memorial Fellowship for Excellence in Journalism. The Fellowships are being awarded to two…