Join our mailing list today!

* indicates required

The Fund for American Studies (TFAS) will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

We use MailChimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to MailChimp for processing. Learn more about MailChimp's privacy practices here.

Home » Awards » Alumni Awards » Young Alumnus Award

Young Alumnus Award


The Young Alumnus Award is given to an alumnus/a who is 30 years of age or younger and has shown great promise in his or her professional field and/or volunteered considerable time to TFAS or community service.  The recipient of this award embodies the values, ideals and potential of an alumnus/a of one of the TFAS programs.


  • The recipient must be an alumnus/a of at least one TFAS program.
  • The recipient must be 30 years of age or younger.
  • The recipient should show great promise or have identifiable accomplishments in his or her chosen profession or has exemplified a commitment to TFAS through fundraising, recruitment of students or volunteering his or her time to further the mission of the organization.
  • The recipient must be able to attend the award ceremony.

Past recipients include:

  • Mary Ellen Beatty (IPJ 05)
  • Andrew Christianson (IBGA 04, AIPE 05)
  • Lauren Crawford (ICPES 04)
  • Rodney Hughes (ICPES 04, IIPES 05)
  • Remley Johnson (ICPES 11)
  • Mercedes Stephenson (IPJ 02)
  • Alissa Swango (IPJ 00, IIPES 02)
  • Jessica Taylor (IPJ 05)
  • Will Weatherford (IBGA 02)